CALL (972) 463-0732 TEXT (469) 844-1377
CALL (972) 463-0732 TEXT (469) 844-1377
Driving Lesson can be for students of ANY age. All students must have a PERMIT. In order to obtain a permit, you need to take a course.
Please see CLASSES webpage for more information. If you are confused - send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org) include students age.
Once you have a permit in your hand, we can start doing driving lessons ASAP!
You can sign up for lessons on our scheduling portal : ScheduleYourLife.com | point. click. go.
To select our office: In box #4 ' ADD A BUSINESS: ULTIMATE DRIVING SCHOOL IN ROWLETT '
ALL payments are CASH/CHECK/MONEY ORDER
Make checks to : "DRIVING SCHOOL"
To sign in to your existing account: ScheduleYourLife.com | point. click. go.
* Arrive 10 to 15 minutes before your drive time to check in with your driving instructor. Your instructor needs to check your permit, glasses/contacts, and collect payment. Please wait for your instructor outside our office/ in your car. Instructor will have a lesson before and after your lesson. If you are late your lesson it could be cut short or pay the No Show fee. The driving instructor car will leave on the hour.
Driving lessons are progressive and teen students have 6 months to complete seven, 1 hour drive times. Adult students & Drive Only students may not have a 6 month window depending on what program they completed. We recommend scheduling lessons when your student is ready for the next step versus trying to rush through.
To improve, students need to be allowed to practice behind the wheel driving at home with parents or other adults. Anyone can practice with a student at home as long as they have had a Texas Drivers License for 3 years and they are 21 years of age or older. It is required from the State of Texas for students to practice an additional 30 hours at home. On the road experience is the only way build student confidence behind the wheel.
One of the new Texas laws requires that the student/parents keep a 30-hour drive time log if the student completed the TEEN program, no matter their current age. You can log no more than 1 hour a day, for 30 different dates. 10 of the hours must be at dusk or dark ( night driving). Here is the 30 hour log for you to print & start filling out! Click here: untitled (texas.gov)
On the first lesson our in-car instructor will evaluate your student. Some students start in the parking lot and do not make it on to the road. When the teacher feels that the student is confident & safe to move on to the road, they will do so. Every student will work at their own pace.
When scheduling dive times be aware of the time of day. Any lessons after 5:00pm will be in heavier traffic and appointments on the weekends in the morning will be lighter traffic. Please be aware of the time of day when scheduling drive time # 6 which is HIGHWAY and covers merging on to the highway, lane changes at higher speeds, and high ways safety.
We recommend scheduling during normal to lighter traffic for this lesson. After each lesson please feel free to talk with your student's driving instructor to ask what the student need to work on. They will give feedback to the student during the lesson and on the online scheduling system after the lesson is completed.
Please bring close-toed shoes, proper eyewear, payment, and your permit to each lesson. If you have prescribed eyewear, you must bring glasses/ contact to your appointment. During the COVID- 19 pandemic, please wear masks during all services.
Keep in mind, this is a recommend driving curriculum. During the course of the lesson, your student might go beyond the recommended lesson material if they have been practicing at home. However, if they have not been practicing adequately, then we might have to repeat lesson material from a lower level until they are safe to move on to the higher level course work. We will NOT take a student on higher level material if it is unsafe to do so. We will inform the student/ parent to pause signing up for lessons until they can catch up as to not miss important higher level lesson material.
What do student learn in the car?
In-Car Lesson Plan Check List
Driver Preparation, Vehicle Movements
______ Pre-Driving Habits (Mirrors/Seat positioning/lock
doors/seatbelts/gear selector/emergency brake)
______ Hand Over Hand Steering/Recovery
______ Smooth Control of Acceleration/Brake
______ Lane Positioning/Tracking
______ Approach to intersection (visual)
______ Stopping distance (see back of tires of car in front)
Vehicle Movements, Driver Readiness, Risk Reduction
______ Square turns/Tight turns
______ Stop sign (parallel with or behind stop sign)
______ Right on red after complete stop
Risk Reduction Environmental Factors
_______ Intersection analysis attention/distraction
_______ approach to intersection (visual/front/side/back)
_______ Yield Signs
_______ Traffic signs (stale green/red/ read signal 2 blocks ahead)
_______ Protected left turns
_______ 2 point
_______ 3 point
_______ U turns
_______ Lane change
Rural Driving, Environmental Factors Distraction
______ Proper Speed Control
______ Following Distance – 2 second rule
______ Curves/Speed control
______ Being Overtaken
______ Visual (reads the road conditions/signs)
Shopping Center - Distractions
______ Angle Parking
______ Perpendicular Parking
______ Scan Visually (front/side/back)
______ Parallel Parking
Freeway, Adverse Conditions
______ Acceleration Lane
______ Merging into proper lane
______ Following distance (2 second rule)
______ Visual (reading road Conditions)
______ Deceleration Lane
______ Service Road (aware of lane markers/signs)
______ Check blind spots
Review/ City Driving (let the instructor know what you would like to review)
_____ General attitude
______ Review Parallel Parking
______ Refine & Review Skills for Road Test
A no-show fee of $40.00 will be charged if the school is not notified of a cancellation at least 24 hours prior to a scheduled in-car lesson, student fails to show up for a lesson, does not show up with proper eyewear, permit, etc.
A fee of $50.00 will be charged if a student defaces or damages any school property (desks, tables, textbooks, etc.)
If gas prices exceed $4.00 per gallon, an additional fuel surcharge of $3.00 will be charged for each driving lesson.
Returned Check fee $35
Variance fee $50 must be paid before contract expires to extend the length of your contact terms
What qualifies as a NO SHOW FEE & FAQs regarding No Shows.
*A no-show fee of $40.00 will be charged if the school is not notified of a cancellation at least 24 hours prior to a scheduled in-car lesson, student fails to show up for a lesson, does not show up with proper eyewear, permit, etc.
* If your permit has a RESTRICTION A - You must have your permit, glasses, or contacts, with you EVERY TIME you practice driving. Without these STATE requirements (based on the restrictions on your permit from your Vision Exam), you are not legal to drive behind the wheel of a car, at anytime. You must go to the DPS office to get the restriction removed if you wish to drive without glasses/ contacts.
*Failure to bring a permit to a lesson, will result in a No Show Fee
* Failure to show for a scheduled drive time will result in a NO SHOW FEE of $40.00. Your account will
automatically lock on your schedulemylife.com account. It cannot be unlocked until you contact our office ( email@example.com) and pay your fee in full.
*Missing drive times due to school practices, detention, traffic, etc is not an excuse.
*Drive times missed because of family emergency will be reviewed case by case. Send email (firstname.lastname@example.org) with name date and time missed.
*Cancellation of a drive time greater than 24 hours before the drive time with no penalty ( example, cancelling the week or several days before). Under 24 hours, there will be a fee of $40.00 and you will receive a lock on your schedulemylife.com account.